Mount Juliet Golf Notes

Golf news and competition results from Mount Juliet Golf Club, Co. Kilkenny


Mount Juliet Golf Notes Monday 25th May 2015

Posted by Sean Cotter

The prestigious Jack Nicklaus Trophy was the prize played for last Sunday and again some very good scoring was recorded especially in the men’s section.  This competition is one of the few competitions during the year which is run on a stroke basis as most of the other competitions are based on stableford points.  The overall winner was Paul Forde with 65 nett with Thomas Hession placed second with 64.  Although Thomas had the best score he was excluded under the local rule from winning during his first year.

Paul seemed not to be destined to win when after nine holes he was 7 over par when he scored 43 shots but he really came to life on his back nine holes which he covered in 2 over par 37 shots.  Thomas had nines of 39 and 43 shots respectively.  Another new member to feature was James “Cha” Fitzpatrick, better known for his exploits on the hurling field, who won the gross prize with a very commendable two over par 74 gross.  Third place in the men’s section was secured by Sean Brett on a countback with 69 shots.  The C.S.S. for the day in both the ladies and men’s section was 74.

The ladies’ winner was Cathy Hoyne who won the section with 72 shots and this win made for a memorable weekend for Cathy as she also recorded a “hole in one” on Saturday in the Thomastown Golf Society outing at Mount Juliet.  Cathy holed out her tee shot on the 11th.  She played consistent golf in her winning round and had 3 shots to spare from her nearest rival, Helen Walsh, with Helen Scully filling third place with 76.  The gross prize in the ladies section was won by Ruth Mulholland.

As this competition counted for Golfer of the Year points, the table after only four rounds, is led by Martin O’ Halloran with 20 points, Sean Brett in second place on 18 points followed by Graham Robinson in third position on 16 points.  In the Lady Golfer of the Year, Ruth Mulholland leads with 30 points followed closely by Helen Walsh and Cathy Hoyne on 29 points with Bernie Madigan in fourth spot on 26 points and again only four competitions have been held for the ladies as well.

Next Sunday sees another coveted trophy up for grabs with the JB Carr Memorial Trophy down for decision.  Players are reminded that this competition will be run on a “shotgun start” basis with the gun “going off” at 11am.  This will mean that prizes for the day along with the March, April and May medals and Jack Nicklaus trophy prizes will be presented at 5.30pm on Sunday evening.

The next team in action will be the Ladies Miele team next Monday who take on the ladies of Enniscorthy, with 2 matches at home and 2 matches away.  Our good wishes go to them for a successful match.




Results – Jack Nicklaus Trophy, Sunday 24th May
Winner Paul Forde (15) 65
Second Thomas Hession (18) 64
Third Sean Brett (7) 69
Best Gross James Cha Fitzpatrick (4) 74
Front 9 Martin O’Halloran (3) 35
Back 9 John Brett (18) 33
Winner Cathy Hoyne (20) 72
Second Helen Walsh (22) 75
Third Helen Scully (14) 76
Best Gross Ruth Mulholland (8) 86
 Front 9 Anne Marie McEvoy (18) 37
 Back 9 Lucia Ahern O’Flaherty (17) 38
Golfer of the Year – Men Golfer of the Year – Ladies
Martin O’Halloran 20 Ruth Mulholland 30
Sean Brett 18 Helen Walsh 29
Graham Robinson 16 Cathy Hoyne 29
Thomas Hession 14 Bernie Madigan 26
Michael Brennan 13 Mary Quigley 21
John Doheny 13 Kathleen Brett 16
Dermot Fennelly 13 Geraldine Higgins 14
Bill Connolly 12 Annette Hogan 13
Fintan O’Shea 12 Amelia Drumm 12
Paul Forde 12 Lucia Ahern O’Flaherty 11



Mount Juliet Golf notes Monday 18th May 2015

Posted by Sean Cotter

Mount Juliet Golf notes Monday 18th May 2015

A mixture of good and bad news on the Inter Club scene when the Pierce Purcell Shield team failed to make the cut for the match play in New Ross at the weekend.  The team finished a creditable 8 shots off final qualifying spot.  Wexford led the qualifiers in New Ross after the stroke play and were favourites to win out but glad to report that near neighbours, Callan, beat them in the final of the match play section to qualify for the regional playoffs.  This may have eased the disappointment suffered by them having lost to Mount Juliet in the second leg of the JB Carr county final which was played in Mount Juliet last Friday.  The home team had a very convincing win by a margin of 4½ to ½ and now qualify for the next round as county champions.  The team managed by Dermot Fennelly and assisted by John O’Dwyer, consisted of the following pairings: Richie Tierney/Tommy Malone, Gus Grace/Frank Smyth, Ted Hoyne/Martin Walsh, Chris McHugh/Billy Fanning and John Browne/Sean O’ Neill.

Last Sunday a Member/Guest Fourball stableford was held and some good scoring was recorded with the winners scoring 47 points.  The pairing of Rory Gaynor and his guest Denis Murphy returned 25 and 22 points for their respective nine holes and just got the better of Bill Connolly and Billy Fanning by a shot.  The two Bills scored 24 and 22 points for their respective nine holes.

Next Sunday the Jack Nicklaus Trophy is down for decision and this competition carries valuable Golfer of the Year points as well as the usual coveted trophy.

Results – Member/Guest Fourball Stableford, Sunday 17th May
Winners Rory Gaynor (8)

Denis Murphy (6) (Callan)

47 points
Second Bill Connolly (15)

Billy Fanning (16)

46 points

Men’s Invitation Day, 1 Member & 3 Guests 4 Person Team

Wednesday 13th May 2015

Winners Paul Mullen (15) (Mount Juliet)

Steve Kinneary (19) (Royal Curragh)

Mick Keating (11) (Killeen Castle)

Gavin Buckley (9) (Tulfarris)

103 points
Second John O’Connor (19) (Powerscourt)

Ted Hoyne (7) (Mount Juliet)

John Browne (18) (Mount Juliet)

Dave Bruton (11) (Carton House)

99 points
Third George Sothern (18)

T. Molomby (9) (Heritage)

Mick Daly (15) (Kilkenny)

B. Kenrick (17) (Heritage)

97 points

Golfer of the Year – Men

Michael Brennan 13
John Doheny 13
Fintan O’Shea 12
Bill Connolly 12
Dermot Fennelly 12
Martin O’Halloran 12
Graham Robinson 12
Gavin Smyth 10
Chris McHugh 8
Ronan Murphy 8
Sean Brett 8

Golfer of the Year – Ladies

Bernie Madigan 26
Ruth Mulholland 24
Helen Walsh 17
Cathy Hoyne 15
Annette Hogan 13
Amelia Drumm 12
Mary Quigley 12
Kathleen Brett 11
Karan Murphy 10
Alison Hoyne 7
Theresa Spain 7
Geraldine Higgins 7
Subscribe to Mount Juliet Golf Notes